Peanut Butter Pizza

One day I was browsing the internet for more savory peanut butter recipes, I came across several entries for peanut butter grilled cheese sandwiches. This inspired me to try to make a peanut butter pizza.

I decided to start small-scale in case it was a flop.  Had some pita bread lying around so I spread some peanut butter on two small ones, crushed some garlic on top and spread that around, then topped that off with some shredded Colby jack cheese (the only cheese on hand). I stuck them on a pizza screen and into  a 425 degree oven until the cheese started to bubble.

I am not gonna lie, this was not the most tasty lunch.  There was too much peanut butter and not enough cheese.  The peanut butter was too sweet and overpowering, and the cheese was too mild.

Round 2:

Today I decided to give the peanut butter pizza another try for lunch.

I again used two small pita pieces.  However this time I decided to make some of my stir fry veggies with peanut sauce, I left out the sugar to cut back on the sweetness of the PB (I have a suspicion that last attempt I accidentally used cashew butter instead of PB, which would explain why it was so sweet.)

I mixed the veggies with some of the shredded colby cheese (still the only cheese on hand), then I spread some of the veggies, cheese, peanut sauce combo on top of the pitas, sprinkled on some crushed red pepper, and a little bit more cheese.  I again baked this in a 425 degree oven till the cheese bubbled.

Result= much better lunch, DELISH!   I will definitely attempt a peanut butter pizza like this on a larger scale (normal pizza dough) in the future.  I would probably add a little sprinkling of feta cheese on top of the Colby to add a bit sharper cheese flavor.

PEANUT BUTTER PIZZA RECIPE

Listen to this song while you cooking: The Marathons “Peanut Butter”

1 recipe Pizza Dough (or some Pita Bread)

1 recipe Stir Fry with Peanut Sauce

red pepper flakes (optional)

1 block Colby Jack cheese

1/4 cup feta cheese

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees

2.  Roll out pizza dough

3. Mix half the Colby Cheese with the stir fry.

4.  Spread a thin layer of this mixture on top of the dough, sprinkle on the red pepper, the rest of the cheese, and the feta.

5. Bake until the cheese is bubbly.

ENJOY!

About PeanutButterProblem

love cooking, eating, and talking about food. I am a Sports Nutrition graduate student at University of Colorado Colorado Springs. I have a Food Science degree from Clemson University, where I specialized in Dietetics. I am fascinated by the effects of food on our bodies. I make almost everything I eat from scratch, its cheaper, tastier, and healthier. I also try to eat sustainably. I am a vegetarian, because I do not want to eat meat that is chock-full of hormones and pesticides. I have come up with some interesting cooking creations and I created this blog to share them with everyone.
This entry was posted in Peanut Butter, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peanut Butter Pizza

  1. tag alder says:

    yeaaaaaaaaa but is it really better than regular pizza because regular pizza is effing amazing

  2. Not better but different, a nice change from the normal routine of life.

Leave a Reply

