Stir Fry with Peanut Sauce

I usually eat this about once a week, it is one of my easy go to meals.  It is also good for when you only have a small amount of peanut butter left in a jar.  I make my own peanut butter and reuse the jars so when there is only about 2 tbsp left, I add about a 1/4 cup of warm water to the jar and shake it up.  You can leave this in the refrigerator during the day and continue shaking to dislodge more peanut butter and make a peanut butter liquid, this makes the jar a lot easier to clean.

I usually don’t use a recipe to make this.  I just stir fry some veggies and add all the ingredients in various amounts until I think it tastes good.  Some days I prefer it spicier, so add more red pepper, some times sweeter, so I add more sugar, some days I like a lot of soy sauce.  Usually for stir fry I like to use broccoli, onion, carrot, peas, mushrooms, and shredded cabbage.  I try to use local and sustainable ingredients, but I usually keep a frozen stir fry vegetable mix in my freezer for low food level emergencies.  These veggies can be eaten alone or for a heartier meal, you can cook up some linguine or asian noodles and add them.

STIR FRY WITH PEANUT SAUCE

listen to this while you cook (kung fu panda’s dad owned a noodle shop):

Stir Fry Veggies (cut into bite size pieces)

1 clove garlic

2 tbsp cooking oil

2 large spoonfuls of peanut butter

3 tbsp soy sauce

¼ cup water

½ tsp ginger

½ tsp crushed red pepper

2 tsp brown sugar

black pepper to taste

Pour the oil into a wok, or large skillet and set the heat to med-high.

Allow the oil to get quite hot (make sure your stove fan is on) and add the crushed garlic and veggies.  Stir constantly until the veggies are cooked, (still crisp but can be poked with a forked, slightly charred looking.)

Remove to a cool burner.  Pour in the peanut butter liquid or add the peanut butter and water.  Add the rest of the ingredients.

Cook over med heat, stir to combine.

(add cooked noodles if you are using and mix well)

continue to cook until thick and bubbly/desired consistency (the nice thing about this recipe is if you add too much liquid, you can just continue heating until it is thick again, if it is too thick just add more water or soy sauce.)

Taste and add more ingredients to your liking.

Enjoy!

About PeanutButterProblem

love cooking, eating, and talking about food. I am a Sports Nutrition graduate student at University of Colorado Colorado Springs. I have a Food Science degree from Clemson University, where I specialized in Dietetics. I am fascinated by the effects of food on our bodies. I make almost everything I eat from scratch, its cheaper, tastier, and healthier. I also try to eat sustainably. I am a vegetarian, because I do not want to eat meat that is chock-full of hormones and pesticides. I have come up with some interesting cooking creations and I created this blog to share them with everyone.
This entry was posted in Peanut Butter, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stir Fry with Peanut Sauce

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Pizza | PeanutButterProblem

Leave a Reply

